404 Error: User not found!

In the past couple of years I have become very wary of sharing my location information with every app that I download or every service that I connect to, through Facebook. Call it paranoia or call it old school but the idea that someone can track you down based on your online activity is scary.

I can’t avoid it, I can only reduce the probability of it.

Enter TOR.

I stumbled upon an article by Gizmodo that introduced me to Tor. Reading through the article, I couldn’t believe what I had stumbled upon.

Image

If I could visualize my thoughts, here is what they would look like

Image

Also known as the onion router was initially a worldwide network of servers developed with the U.S. Navy that enabled people to browse the internet anonymously. Now, it’s developed and maintained by a non-profit organization whose main purpose is the research and development of online privacy tools.

Curious about how many users know or use Tor on a daily basis, and like most other things, Google had an answer for me!

Starting January 1st 2012 to today, United States has the maximum daily users using Tor. Now who could have guessed that?

Add one more to the list.

Since you have taken the trouble to read this article, do me a favor and participate in this Tor challenge so people like me and some 350,000 odd daily US residents can speed up their Tor browsing.

I think I just figured out why I have always loved onions so much….

Standard

Leave a Reply

